gradfun: add notice from the MPlayer manual
authorStefano Sabatini <stefano.sabatini-lala@poste.it>
Sat, 9 Apr 2011 11:49:57 +0000 (13:49 +0200)
committerAnton Khirnov <anton@khirnov.net>
Sun, 10 Apr 2011 07:26:02 +0000 (09:26 +0200)
Add notice telling that the filter is designed for playback only.

Signed-off-by: Anton Khirnov <anton@khirnov.net>
doc/filters.texi

index 00a954c..c2e5aed 100644 (file)
@@ -471,6 +471,10 @@ regions by truncation to 8bit colordepth.
 Interpolate the gradients that should go where the bands are, and
 dither them.
 
+This filter is designed for playback only.  Do not use it prior to
+lossy compression, because compression tends to lose the dither and
+bring back the bands.
+
 The filter takes two optional parameters, separated by ':':
 @var{strength}:@var{radius}