Much more accurate B-skip detection at 2 < subme < 7
authorFiona Glaser <fiona@x264.com>
Sun, 7 Mar 2010 12:10:30 +0000 (04:10 -0800)
committerFiona Glaser <fiona@x264.com>
Sat, 27 Mar 2010 19:47:15 +0000 (12:47 -0700)
commit47092e82824ac0fb7f2ee370762feec2ae6d2a0a
tree7a20025bfbf531114ff497cb527d97990a2febea
parent639b18a6f9904039e46376c55ad60e24d8617ab6
Much more accurate B-skip detection at 2 < subme < 7
Use the same method that x264 uses for P-skip detection.
This significantly improves quality (1-6%), but at a significant speed cost as well (5-20%).
It also may have a very positive visual effect in cases where the inaccurate skip detection resulted in slightly-off vectors in B-frames.
This could cause slight blurring or non-smooth motion in low-complexity frames at high quantizers.
Not all instances of this problem are solved: the only universal solution is non-locally-optimal mode decision, which x264 does not currently have.

subme >= 7 or <= 2 are unaffected.
common/macroblock.c
encoder/analyse.c