. autod�tection des plugins
[vlc/vlc-test.git] / README
1 README for vlc, the VideoLAN Client
2
3
4 Introduction
5 ============
6
7 The vlc is part of the VideoLAN project, a full MPEG2 client/server
8 solution. The VideoLAN Client can also be used as a standalone program
9 to play MPEG2 streams from a hard disk or a DVD.
10
11
12 Building, Installing and Running VideoLAN
13 =========================================
14
15 See the INSTALL file for this.
16
17
18 Troubleshooting
19 ===============
20
21 A mailing-list has been set up for support and discussion about the
22 vlc. Its address is :
23
24    <vlc@videolan.org>
25
26 To subscribe, send a mail to <listar@videolan.org> with the following
27 words in the mail body :
28
29    subscribe vlc
30
31 To unsubscribe, do the same with the words :
32
33    unsubscribe vlc
34
35
36 When reporting bugs, try to be as precise as possible (which OS, which
37 distribution, what plugins you were trying, and so on).
38
39
40 Resources
41 =========
42
43 The VideoLAN web site at http://www.videolan.org/ is a good start for
44 information about MPEG and DVD playing. Have a look at the documentation
45 section, as well as the bookmarks.
46
47 You can also try the OpenDVD site at http://www.opendvd.org/ or the
48 the LiViD project at http://www.linuxvideo.org/. They have lots of
49 information, too.
50
51
52 The team
53 ========
54
55 The following teachers were involved in the VideoLAN project :
56
57   Pierre Lecoy, teacher-cum-researcher at ECP,
58   Philippe Boutin, head of the LMI (MicroComputing Laboratory).
59
60 The following students were members of the VideoLAN team :
61
62   Pierre Almeras <almeras@via.ecp.fr>
63   Christophe Arnaud <christophe.arnaud@tps.fr>
64   Antoine Brenner <brenner@via.ecp.fr>
65   Régis Duchesne <regis@via.ecp.fr>
66   Alexandre Francois <francois@via.ecp.fr>
67   Christian Gross <gross@via.ecp.fr>
68   Hugo Haas <hugo@via.ecp.fr>
69   Mikael Journo <mj32@cornell.edu>
70   Michel Lespinasse <walken@wrs.com>
71   Christophe Ulses <mowgli@laotseu.via.ecp.fr>
72   Pierre Vandecasteele <pabv2@hermes.cam.ac.uk>
73   Guillaume Vergnaud <vergnaud@via.ecp.fr>
74
75   Olivier Baxa <oli@via.ecp.fr>
76   Patrice Bazerque <patrice.bazerque@via.ecp.fr>
77   Arnaud Bienvenu <arnaud.bienvenu@via.ecp.fr>
78   Régis Clément <clement@via.ecp.fr>
79   Alexandre Duret <alex@via.ecp.fr>
80   Eric Estievenart <eric@via.ecp.fr>
81   Sébastien Kurz <seb@tao.via.ecp.fr>
82   Olivier Pomel <pomel@via.ecp.fr>
83
84   Pierre Baillet <octplane@via.ecp.fr>
85   Alban Fonrouge <alban@via.ecp.fr>
86   Jean-Philippe Grimaldi <jeanphi@via.ecp.fr>
87   Andres Krapf <dae@via.ecp.fr>
88   Christophe Massiot <massiot@via.ecp.fr>
89   Mathieu Poumeyrol <kaliban@via.ecp.fr>
90   Etienne Roy <etienne@via.ecp.fr>
91   Vincent Seguin <seguin@via.ecp.fr>
92   Benoit Steiner <benny@via.ecp.fr>
93
94   Arnaud de Bossoreille de Ribou <bozo@via.ecp.fr>
95   Jean-Marc Dressler <polux@via.ecp.fr>
96   Gaël Hendryckx <jimmy@via.ecp.fr>
97   Samuel Hocevar <sam@via.ecp.fr>
98   Brieuc Jeunhomme <bbp@via.ecp.fr>
99   Michel Kaempf <maxx@via.ecp.fr>
100   Florent Rougon <flo@via.ecp.fr>
101
102   Stéphane Borel <stef@via.ecp.fr>
103   Renaud Dartus <reno@via.ecp.fr>
104   Henri Fallon <henri@via.ecp.fr>
105   Jean-Michel Grimaldi <jm@via.ecp.fr>
106   Damien Lucas <nitrox@via.ecp.fr>
107   Rémi Peyronnet <remi@via.ecp.fr>
108   Laurent Rossier <gunther@via.ecp.fr>
109