Documentation updates.
[vlc.git] / README
1 README for vlc, the VideoLAN Client
2
3
4 Introduction
5 ============
6
7 The vlc is part of the VideoLAN project, a full MPEG2 client/server
8 solution. The VideoLAN Client can also be used as a standalone program
9 to play MPEG2 streams from a hard disk or a DVD.
10
11
12 Building, Installing and Running VideoLAN
13 =========================================
14
15 See the INSTALL file for this.
16
17
18 Troubleshooting
19 ===============
20
21 Please check the file FAQ before doing any bug report.
22
23 A mailing-list has been set up for support and discussion about the
24 vlc. Its address is :
25
26    <vlc@videolan.org>
27
28 To subscribe, send a mail to <listar@videolan.org> with the following
29 words in the mail body :
30
31    subscribe vlc
32
33 To unsubscribe, do the same with the words :
34
35    unsubscribe vlc
36
37
38 When reporting bugs, try to be as precise as possible (which OS, which
39 distribution, what plugins you were trying, and so on).
40
41
42 Resources
43 =========
44
45 The VideoLAN web site at http://www.videolan.org/ is a good start for
46 information about MPEG and DVD playing. Have a look at the documentation
47 section, as well as the bookmarks.
48
49 You can also try the OpenDVD site at http://www.opendvd.org/ or the
50 the LiViD project at http://www.linuxvideo.org/. They have lots of
51 information, too.
52
53
54 The team
55 ========
56
57 See the AUTHORS file for a list of the vlc authors and contributors.
58
59 The following teachers were involved in the VideoLAN project :
60
61   Pierre Lecoy, teacher-cum-researcher at ECP,
62   Philippe Boutin, head of the LMI (MicroComputing Laboratory).
63
64 The following students were members of the VideoLAN team :
65
66 1996-1997:
67   Pierre Almeras <almeras@via.ecp.fr>
68   Christophe Arnaud <christophe.arnaud@tps.fr>
69   Antoine Brenner <brenner@via.ecp.fr>
70   Régis Duchesne <regis@via.ecp.fr>
71   Alexandre Francois <francois@via.ecp.fr>
72   Christian Gross <gross@via.ecp.fr>
73   Hugo Haas <hugo@via.ecp.fr>
74   Mikael Journo <mj32@cornell.edu>
75   Michel Lespinasse <walken@zoy.org>
76   Christophe Ulses <mowgli@laotseu.via.ecp.fr>
77   Pierre Vandecasteele <pabv2@hermes.cam.ac.uk>
78   Guillaume Vergnaud <vergnaud@via.ecp.fr>
79
80 1997-1998:
81   Olivier Baxa <oli@via.ecp.fr>
82   Patrice Bazerque <patrice.bazerque@via.ecp.fr>
83   Arnaud Bienvenu <arnaud.bienvenu@via.ecp.fr>
84   Régis Clément <clement@via.ecp.fr>
85   Alexandre Duret <alex@via.ecp.fr>
86   Eric Estievenart <eric@via.ecp.fr>
87   Sébastien Kurz <seb@tao.via.ecp.fr>
88   Olivier Pomel <pomel@via.ecp.fr>
89
90 1998-1999:
91   Pierre Baillet <octplane@via.ecp.fr>
92   Alban Fonrouge <alban@via.ecp.fr>
93   Jean-Philippe Grimaldi <jeanphi@via.ecp.fr>
94   Andres Krapf <dae@via.ecp.fr>
95   Christophe Massiot <massiot@via.ecp.fr>
96   Mathieu Poumeyrol <kaliban@via.ecp.fr>
97   Etienne Roy <etienne@via.ecp.fr>
98   Vincent Seguin <seguin@via.ecp.fr>
99   Benoit Steiner <benny@via.ecp.fr>
100
101 1999-2000:
102   Arnaud de Bossoreille de Ribou <bozo@via.ecp.fr>
103   Jean-Marc Dressler <polux@via.ecp.fr>
104   Gaël Hendryckx <jimmy@via.ecp.fr>
105   Samuel Hocevar <sam@zoy.org>
106   Brieuc Jeunhomme <bbp@via.ecp.fr>
107   Michel Kaempf <maxx@via.ecp.fr>
108   Florent Rougon <flo@via.ecp.fr>
109
110 2000-2001:
111   Arnaud de Bossoreille de Ribou <bozo@via.ecp.fr>
112   Stéphane Borel <stef@via.ecp.fr>
113   Renaud Dartus <reno@via.ecp.fr>
114   Henri Fallon <henri@via.ecp.fr>
115   Jean-Michel Grimaldi <jm@via.ecp.fr>
116   Samuel Hocevar <sam@zoy.org>
117   Damien Lucas <nitrox@via.ecp.fr>
118   Rémi Peyronnet <remi@via.ecp.fr>
119   Laurent Rossier <gunther@via.ecp.fr>
120