git-howto: mention how to clone ffmpeg-web
authorAndreas Cadhalpun <Andreas.Cadhalpun@googlemail.com>
Tue, 24 Nov 2015 23:52:39 +0000 (00:52 +0100)
committerAndreas Cadhalpun <Andreas.Cadhalpun@googlemail.com>
Wed, 2 Dec 2015 19:39:18 +0000 (20:39 +0100)
Signed-off-by: Andreas Cadhalpun <Andreas.Cadhalpun@googlemail.com>
doc/git-howto.texi

index bf37bcc..e5e3c81 100644 (file)
@@ -65,6 +65,21 @@ git clone git@@source.ffmpeg.org:ffmpeg <target>
 This will put the FFmpeg sources into the directory @var{<target>} and let
 you push back your changes to the remote repository.
 
+@example
+git clone gil@@ffmpeg.org:ffmpeg-web <target>
+@end example
+
+This will put the source of the FFmpeg website into the directory
+@var{<target>} and let you push back your changes to the remote repository.
+(Note that @var{gil} stands for GItoLite and is not a typo of @var{git}.)
+
+If you don't have write-access to the ffmpeg-web repository, you can
+create patches after making a read-only ffmpeg-web clone:
+
+@example
+git clone git://ffmpeg.org/ffmpeg-web <target>
+@end example
+
 Make sure that you do not have Windows line endings in your checkouts,
 otherwise you may experience spurious compilation failures. One way to
 achieve this is to run