yuv2rgb: Document the color space coefficients
authorVittorio Giovara <vittorio.giovara@gmail.com>
Tue, 19 Jan 2016 22:10:59 +0000 (17:10 -0500)
committerVittorio Giovara <vittorio.giovara@gmail.com>
Wed, 20 Jan 2016 16:18:31 +0000 (11:18 -0500)
Based on the original documentation found in mpeg2dec (1995).

Signed-off-by: Vittorio Giovara <vittorio.giovara@gmail.com>
libswscale/yuv2rgb.c

index a4f7a11..fca3242 100644 (file)
 #include "swscale.h"
 #include "swscale_internal.h"
 
+/* Color space conversion coefficients for YCbCr -> RGB mapping.
+ *
+ * Entries are {crv, cbu, cgu, cgv}
+ *
+ *   crv = (255 / 224) * 65536 * (1 - cr) / 0.5
+ *   cbu = (255 / 224) * 65536 * (1 - cb) / 0.5
+ *   cgu = (255 / 224) * 65536 * (cb / cg) * (1 - cb) / 0.5
+ *   cgv = (255 / 224) * 65536 * (cr / cg) * (1 - cr) / 0.5
+ *
+ * where Y = cr * R + cg * G + cb * B and cr + cg + cb = 1.
+ */
 const int32_t ff_yuv2rgb_coeffs[8][4] = {
     { 117504, 138453, 13954, 34903 }, /* no sequence_display_extension */
     { 117504, 138453, 13954, 34903 }, /* ITU-R Rec. 709 (1990) */