doc: Mention memory allocation in the fuzz testing section
authorDerek Buitenhuis <derek.buitenhuis@gmail.com>
Sun, 6 Jan 2013 18:25:07 +0000 (13:25 -0500)
committerDerek Buitenhuis <derek.buitenhuis@gmail.com>
Mon, 7 Jan 2013 19:55:49 +0000 (14:55 -0500)
It's obviously undesireable to blindly allocate memory based on
a damaged 'size' value, for example.

Signed-off-by: Derek Buitenhuis <derek.buitenhuis@gmail.com>
doc/developer.texi

index c10d44a..691a907 100644 (file)
@@ -453,7 +453,8 @@ send a reminder by email. Your patch should eventually be dealt with.
     Did you test your decoder or demuxer against damaged data? If no, see
     tools/trasher, the noise bitstream filter, and
     @uref{http://caca.zoy.org/wiki/zzuf, zzuf}. Your decoder or demuxer
-    should not crash or end in a (near) infinite loop when fed damaged data.
+    should not crash, end in a (near) infinite loop, or allocate ridiculous
+    amounts of memory when fed damaged data.
 @item
     Does the patch not mix functional and cosmetic changes?
 @item