doc: clarify configure features
authorLuca Barbato <lu_zero@gentoo.org>
Mon, 4 Apr 2011 15:43:45 +0000 (17:43 +0200)
committerLuca Barbato <lu_zero@gentoo.org>
Thu, 7 Apr 2011 00:54:12 +0000 (02:54 +0200)
This way people will not get surprises regarding the current configure
behaviour and contributors will have a guideline on what is expected.

INSTALL

diff --git a/INSTALL b/INSTALL
index 2ed04ef..ac5dc5d 100644 (file)
--- a/INSTALL
+++ b/INSTALL
@@ -9,3 +9,10 @@ path when launching 'configure', e.g. '/libavdir/libav/configure'.
 2) Then type 'make' to build Libav. GNU Make 3.81 or later is required.
 
 3) Type 'make install' to install all binaries and libraries you built.
+
+NOTICE
+
+ - Non system dependencies (e.g. libx264, libvpx) are disabled by default.
+
+ - The default cflags include -g, if you want lean libraries you can either
+   pass --disable-debug or strip the debug symbols at a later time.