http: Stop reading after receiving the whole file for non-chunked transfers
authorMartin Storsjö <martin@martin.st>
Mon, 11 Aug 2014 07:18:28 +0000 (10:18 +0300)
committerMartin Storsjö <martin@martin.st>
Wed, 13 Aug 2014 11:34:25 +0000 (14:34 +0300)
Previously this logic was only used if the server didn't
respond with Connection: close, but use it even for that case,
if the server response is non-chunked.

Originally the http code has relied on Connection: close to close
the socket when the file/stream is received - the http protocol
code just kept reading from the socket until the socket was closed.
In f240ed18 we added a check for the file size, because some
http servers didn't respond with Connection: close (and wouldn't
close the socket) even though we requested it, which meant that the
http protocol blocked for a long time at the end of files, waiting
for a socket level timeout.

When reading over tls, trying to read at the end of the connection,
when the peer has closed the connection, can produce spurious (but
harmless) warnings. Therefore always voluntarily stop reading when
the specified file size has been received, if not using a chunked
transfer encoding. (For chunked transfers, we already return 0
as soon as we get the chunk header indicating end of stream.)

Signed-off-by: Martin Storsjö <martin@martin.st>
libavformat/http.c

index ee7dbb3..b2e07b4 100644 (file)
@@ -699,7 +699,8 @@ static int http_buf_read(URLContext *h, uint8_t *buf, int size)
         memcpy(buf, s->buf_ptr, len);
         s->buf_ptr += len;
     } else {
-        if (!s->willclose && s->filesize >= 0 && s->off >= s->filesize)
+        if ((!s->willclose || s->chunksize < 0) &&
+            s->filesize >= 0 && s->off >= s->filesize)
             return AVERROR_EOF;
         len = ffurl_read(s->hd, buf, size);
     }