avformat/mov: Error on too large stsd entry counts.
authorDale Curtis <dalecurtis@chromium.org>
Thu, 30 Aug 2018 22:18:25 +0000 (15:18 -0700)
committerMichael Niedermayer <michael@niedermayer.cc>
Sat, 1 Sep 2018 17:26:40 +0000 (19:26 +0200)
Entries are always at least 8 bytes per the parsing code, so if we
see an impossible entry count avoid massive allocations. This is
similar to an existing check in mov_read_stsc().

Since ff_mov_read_stsd_entries() does eof checks, an alternative
approach could be to clamp the entry count to atom.size / 8.

Signed-off-by: Dale Curtis <dalecurtis@chromium.org>
Signed-off-by: Michael Niedermayer <michael@niedermayer.cc>
libavformat/mov.c

index d66f4e3..d922e0f 100644 (file)
@@ -2558,7 +2558,8 @@ static int mov_read_stsd(MOVContext *c, AVIOContext *pb, MOVAtom atom)
     avio_rb24(pb); /* flags */
     entries = avio_rb32(pb);
 
-    if (entries <= 0) {
+    /* Each entry contains a size (4 bytes) and format (4 bytes). */
+    if (entries <= 0 || entries > atom.size / 8) {
         av_log(c->fc, AV_LOG_ERROR, "invalid STSD entries %d\n", entries);
         return AVERROR_INVALIDDATA;
     }