avcodec: Resolve the codec_id compatibility issue.
authorMichael Niedermayer <michaelni@gmx.at>
Mon, 24 Oct 2011 19:21:45 +0000 (21:21 +0200)
committerMichael Niedermayer <michaelni@gmx.at>
Thu, 27 Oct 2011 23:37:50 +0000 (01:37 +0200)
Signed-off-by: Michael Niedermayer <michaelni@gmx.at>
libavcodec/avcodec.h

index 15dc203..401ce32 100644 (file)
@@ -47,7 +47,8 @@
  *
  * If you add a codec ID to this list, add it so that
  * 1. no value of a existing codec ID changes (that would break ABI),
- * 2. it is as close as possible to similar codecs.
+ * 2. Give it a value which when taken as ASCII is recognized uniquely by a human as this specific codec.
+ *    This ensures that 2 forks can independantly add CodecIDs without producing conflicts.
  */
 enum CodecID {
     CODEC_ID_NONE,