Add basic libavdevice documentation.
authorAnton Khirnov <anton@khirnov.net>
Sun, 11 Dec 2011 11:43:50 +0000 (12:43 +0100)
committerAnton Khirnov <anton@khirnov.net>
Mon, 12 Dec 2011 18:43:37 +0000 (19:43 +0100)
libavdevice/avdevice.h
libavutil/avutil.h

index fd82816..e6c86cb 100644 (file)
 #ifndef AVDEVICE_AVDEVICE_H
 #define AVDEVICE_AVDEVICE_H
 
+/**
+ * @file
+ * @ingroup lavd
+ * Main libavdevice API header
+ */
+
+/**
+ * @defgroup lavd Special devices muxing/demuxing library
+ * @{
+ * Libavdevice is a complementary library to @ref libavf "libavformat". It
+ * provides various "special" platform-specific muxers and demuxers, e.g. for
+ * grabbing devices, audio capture and playback etc. As a consequence, the
+ * (de)muxers in libavdevice are of the AVFMT_NOFILE type (they use their own
+ * I/O functions). The filename passed to avformat_open_input() often does not
+ * refer to an actually existing file, but has some special device-specific
+ * meaning - e.g. for the x11grab device it is the display name.
+ *
+ * To use libavdevice, simply call avdevice_register_all() to register all
+ * compiled muxers and demuxers. They all use standard libavformat API.
+ * @}
+ */
+
 #include "libavutil/avutil.h"
 
 #define LIBAVDEVICE_VERSION_MAJOR 53
index 1ed9ffe..fa84eff 100644 (file)
@@ -37,6 +37,7 @@
  * @li @ref libavc "libavcodec" encoding/decoding library
  * @li @subpage libavfilter graph based frame editing library
  * @li @ref libavf "libavformat" I/O and muxing/demuxing library
+ * @li @ref lavd "libavdevice" special devices muxing/demuxing library
  * @li @ref lavu "libavutil" common utility library
  * @li @subpage libpostproc post processing library
  * @li @subpage libswscale  color conversion and scaling library