avcodec: consider an error during decoder draining as EOF
authorwm4 <nfxjfg@googlemail.com>
Thu, 2 Mar 2017 09:37:26 +0000 (10:37 +0100)
committerwm4 <nfxjfg@googlemail.com>
Mon, 6 Mar 2017 10:06:09 +0000 (11:06 +0100)
commita755b725ec1d657609c8bd726ce37e7cf193d03f
treecf8eab6bd5d474d068a929d53f604e906bfad735
parent3267e1703b32e83bce1329676fd007cc66a592c7
avcodec: consider an error during decoder draining as EOF

There is no reason that draining couldn't return an error or two. But
some decoders don't handle this very well, and might always return an
error. This can lead to API users getting into an infinite loop and
burning CPU, because no progress is made and EOF is never returned.

In fact, ffmpeg.c contains a hack against such a case. It is made
unnecessary with this commit, and removed with the next one. (This
particular error case seems to have been fixed since the hack was
added, though.)

This might lose frames if decoding returns errors during draining.
libavcodec/utils.c