network: Add RFC 8305 style "Happy Eyeballs"/"Fast Fallback" helper function
authorMartin Storsjö <martin@martin.st>
Fri, 10 Aug 2018 07:25:59 +0000 (10:25 +0300)
committerMartin Storsjö <martin@martin.st>
Fri, 31 Aug 2018 09:26:51 +0000 (12:26 +0300)
commit9b4c3f5aadf54ffd2a6e15746b1fd736379883c4
tree826c8a9c283c79a7e468a6bf59a491d2c4c10f05
parent69caad8959982580504643d36aef22528e4aa6ce
network: Add RFC 8305 style "Happy Eyeballs"/"Fast Fallback" helper function

For cases with dual stack (IPv4 + IPv6) connectivity, but where one
stack potentially is less reliable, strive to trying to connect over
both protocols in parallel, using whichever address connected first.

In cases with a hostname resolving to multiple IPv4 and IPv6
addresses, the current connection mechanism would try all addresses
in the order returned by getaddrinfo (with all IPv6 addresses ordered
before the IPv4 addresses normally). If connection attempts to the
IPv6 addresses return quickly with an error, this was no problem, but
if they were unsuccessful leading up to timeouts, the connection process
would have to wait for timeouts on all IPv6 target addresses before
attempting any IPv4 address.

Similar to what RFC 8305 suggests, reorder the list of addresses to
try connecting to, interleaving address families. After starting one
connection attempt, start another one in parallel after a small delay
(200 ms as suggested by the RFC).

For cases with unreliable IPv6 but reliable IPv4, this should make
connection attempts work as reliably as with plain IPv4, with only an
extra 200 ms of connection delay.

Signed-off-by: Martin Storsjö <martin@martin.st>
libavformat/network.c
libavformat/network.h