movenc: Add an option for delaying writing the moov with empty_moov
authorMartin Storsjö <martin@martin.st>
Mon, 3 Nov 2014 14:09:15 +0000 (16:09 +0200)
committerMartin Storsjö <martin@martin.st>
Fri, 2 Jan 2015 23:19:27 +0000 (01:19 +0200)
commit847bf5988fec1d3e65c1d8cf0cdb8caf0cfd0c1b
treea2f5bc6fdcaee5761530832d13cd00780cb1a9e6
parentc725faebda9a516766d94c33b07972ab0f70cf93
movenc: Add an option for delaying writing the moov with empty_moov

This delays writing the moov until the first fragment is written,
or can be flushed by the caller explicitly when wanted. If the first
sample in all streams is available at this point, we can write
a proper editlist at this point, allowing streams to start at
something else than dts=0. For AC3 and DNXHD, a packet is
needed in order to write the moov header properly.

This isn't added to the normal behaviour for empty_moov, since
the behaviour that ftyp+moov is written during avformat_write_header
would be changed. Callers that split the output stream into header+segments
(either by flushing manually, with the custom_frag flag set, or by
just differentiating between data written during avformat_write_header
and the rest) will need to be adjusted to take this option into use.

For handling streams that start at something else than dts=0, an
alternative would be to use different kinds of heuristics for
guessing the start dts (using AVCodecContext delay or has_b_frames
together with the frame rate), but this is not reliable and doesn't
necessarily work well with stream copy, and wouldn't work for getting
the right initialization data for AC3 or DNXHD either.

Signed-off-by: Martin Storsjö <martin@martin.st>
libavformat/movenc.c
libavformat/movenc.h
libavformat/version.h