configure: add --enable-rpath
authorReinhard Tartler <siretart@tauware.de>
Sat, 23 Aug 2014 14:04:26 +0000 (10:04 -0400)
committerReinhard Tartler <siretart@tauware.de>
Sat, 23 Aug 2014 14:53:21 +0000 (10:53 -0400)
commit749b1f1359b5af0a08221923b016551b18ab6171
tree393af8236bc8d1fb92682da0eb594778b40827f4
parent5caf039ba2b4be067568a30146f29008d8db28d0
configure: add --enable-rpath

This option facilitates testing shared libarary builds: for instance
fate builders do no longer need to set LD_LIBRARY_PATH as the binaries will
get the right search paths hardcoded into their executable file.

This option is only meant to be used for testing purposes: The installed
libraries must not move around in the file system, and doing so will
cause a lot of subtle problems. For more information why using RPATH is
dangerous, please refer to

https://blog.flameeyes.eu/2010/06/the-why-and-how-of-rpath
configure