avutil/common: add av_rint64_clip
authorGanesh Ajjanagadde <gajjanagadde@gmail.com>
Sun, 1 Nov 2015 14:33:29 +0000 (09:33 -0500)
committerGanesh Ajjanagadde <gajjanagadde@gmail.com>
Sat, 14 Nov 2015 02:48:16 +0000 (21:48 -0500)
commit6f520ce1a6c6bc8467e96a2d1d9f6dab88c210ca
treeba9f5af3cb10f212daedf466cfa59dad6b682de2
parentdf91aa034b82b77a3c4e01791f4a2b2ff6c82066
avutil/common: add av_rint64_clip

The rationale for this function is reflected in the documentation for
it, and is copied here:

Clip a double value into the long long amin-amax range.
This function is needed because conversion of floating point to integers when
it does not fit in the integer's representation does not necessarily saturate
correctly (usually converted to a cvttsd2si on x86) which saturates numbers
> INT64_MAX to INT64_MIN. The standard marks such conversions as undefined
behavior, allowing this sort of mathematically bogus conversions. This provides
a safe alternative that is slower obviously but assures safety and better
mathematical behavior.
API:
@param a value to clip
@param amin minimum value of the clip range
@param amax maximum value of the clip range
@return clipped value

Note that a priori if one can guarantee from the calling side that the
double is in range, it is safe to simply do an explicit/implicit cast,
and that will be far faster. However, otherwise this function should be
used.

avutil minor version is bumped.

Reviewed-by: Ronald S. Bultje <rsbultje@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Ganesh Ajjanagadde <gajjanagadde@gmail.com>
libavutil/common.h
libavutil/version.h